Cozen O’Connor: Managing the Workplace in 2019: A Practical Guide to the Legal Issues Impacting Texas Employers

Managing the Workplace in 2019: A Practical Guide to the Legal Issues Impacting Texas Employers

Location

The Briar Club
2603 Timmons Lane
Houston, Texas 77027

 


Date & Time

Start Date: 10/23/2019
Start Time: 8:00 am
End Time: 1:30 pm

Download Calendar Appointment

 

Breakfast/Registration: 8:00 – 8:30 a.m.
Seminar: 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Lunch: 12:00 – 1:30 p.m.

 

The world is changing rapidly and it is getting increasingly hard for employers to keep up with the impact of social media, generational gaps, and the myriad of new state and federal laws regulating every step in the employment relationship from hiring to firing. This seminar will provide a practical focus on new legal developments impacting managers, in-house counsel, and human resource professionals and, more importantly, provide "best practices" to manage these newly emerging challenges in the workplace. Attendees will also be asked to complete an anonymous survey on the top HR and staffing challenges facing employers in Texas, and the results will be shared and discussed during lunch.

 

Topics of Discussion:

  • Diversity in the Workplace: Implicit Bias and Discrimination — Aaron Holt and Nandini Kavuri, Cozen  O'Connor
  • Digital Divides & Landmines — David Barron, Cozen O'Connor; Noel Kersh, Pathway Forensics; and Ryan Shinkle, Insgroup Insurance
  • Investigating Sexual Harassment Claims in the #MeToo Era — Michele Miller, Cozen O'Connor
  • Latest Updates from the Trump Administration and State and Local Laws — Scott Bettridge, Adam Gutmann, and Robert Kaplan, Cozen O'Connor
  • Review and Expert Analysis of Survey of Texas HR Professionals and Managers — Bill Penczak, Briggs & Veselka and A. Martin Wickliff, Cozen O'Connor

CLE is approved in TX, PA, NY, IL and CA. All other jurisdictions will be applied for upon request.
Cozen O’Connor is recognized by SHRM to offer Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for the SHRM-CPSM or SHRM-SCPSM. This program is valid for 1.5 PDCs for the SHRM-CPSM or SHRM-SCPSM. For more information about certification or recertification, please visit www.shrmcertification.org.




Attorneys

David L. Barron

Member

dbarron@cozen.com

(713) 750-3132

Scott Bettridge

Chair, Immigration Practice

sbettridge@cozen.com

(305) 704-5953

Adam C. Gutmann

Associate

agutmann@cozen.com

(832) 214-3919

Aaron Holt

Associate

aholt@cozen.com

(832) 214-3961

Robert S. Kaplan

Member

rkaplan@cozen.com

(215) 665-2067

Nandini Kavuri

Associate

nkavuri@cozen.com

(832) 214-3962

Michele Miller

Chair, West Coast Labor & Employment

mbmiller@cozen.com

(415) 262-8301

A. Martin Wickliff, Jr.

Member

awickliff@cozen.com

(713) 750-3110

Related Practices